Escape into the Real World

Posted: 06/02/2011 in Life, Writing
Tags: , , ,
Writing here in this blog, I don’t ever feel that time here is wasted even though my life has taken on many new dimensions and paths since this past March. I feel that this is like ice cream with a piece of cake. Somethings should be kept as a treat, enjoyed more, causes less stress and guilt when done only in moderation.

Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to live your life.


My challenge for all of you is this:
 
Sacrifice some of your online life for the real world. Do anything other than sit in a chair staring at a screen. Start a project you have been thinking of, read a book, watch a movie, go to a show or museum. Create something real and tangible that you can hold in your hands, something that is a part of your life that you won’t lose if your computer should crash tomorrow. Anything at all that you can achieve in the time that you normally spend online and tell me about it. I think you will be amazed at all you can do. Nothing we do is wasted time, sharing with others is one of the most human things we can do, but without growth, what do we really have to contribute. Go out, do something and come back and share it with me….

 1.  I started being active on Deviant Art. I have won two contests and sold two prints and have made a great many new friends. 

2.  I have taken over 500 pictures with my new Canon camera. 

3.  I have watched about 30 movies on Netflix, too. I forgot how much I really enjoy taking a shower after a long day, lighting candles, pouring a glass of wine and losing myself to a really great movie with my wife. 

4.  I have repainted our home and did some landscaping. 

5.  I have read three books and wrote/published two new poems.

 I can’t wait to see what you can come up with!

Comments
  1. Amy says:

    What a great idea for sharing!
    1. I got back to my love of creating beautiful things with my art. A sea glass candle holder.
    2. Planted my summer gardens.
    3. Read some wonderful though provoking books.
    4. Painted a portrait for my mother for her birthday of my stepfather.
    5. Was approached by an editor to write my book.
    6. Never without my camera myself I can’t even count the endless amount of photographs I have taken. And putting together a show at my local library in the Fall.

    • Lee says:

      Good for you Amy. It’s fun to get out and discover the world and all that is out there. So many hour’s in the day… xoxo

Leave a Reply

